Skip to main navigation.

2015 Scholarship Recipients

Valley Rural Electric Cooperative awarded 25 $1,000 scholarships for the 2015-16 academic year to high school seniors as well as students already enrolled in post-secondary institutions.

The money to finance this program came from unclaimed capital credits refunds that previously had to be turned over to the state treasury. Thanks to the efforts of the cooperative’s political advocates, these resources were kept in co-op communities and used to assist consumers facing financial hardships, to support civic organizations, and to fund educational programs and scholarships.

The recipients of the scholarships are listed below. Congratulations to all of them.

RecipientH.S. (grad. year if not 2015)Post-secondary Institution
Kalee AndersonSouthern Huntingdon County H.S. (2012)Shippensburg University
Christopher BarnishSouthern Huntingdon County H.S.Penn State
Annaleigh BenoitFannett-Metal H.S.Penn State Mont Alto
Makenzie BishopJuniata H.S.Delaware Valley University
Taylor BoonieJuniata Valley H.S.Duquesne University
Morgan BrumbaughTussey Mountain H.S.Penn State Altoona
Sage BurdgeSouthern Huntingdon County H.S.Cornish College of the Arts
Kale BurketCentral H.S.Saint Francis University
Lance ChambersHuntingdon Area H.S. (2014)Penn State
Katherine ChristoffMount Union Area H.S.Penn State
Wyatt CreeHollidaysburg Area Senior H.S.Point Park University
Caitlyn EnglandWilliamsburg Junior/Senior H.S.Lock Haven University
Carly EnglandWilliamsburg Junior/Senior H.S.Penn State
Courtney FedescoHollidaysburg Area Senior H.S. (2014)Cairn University
Braylin HohmanForbes Road Junior/Senior H.S.Penn State Mont Alto
Tirzah HoslerJuniata H.S.Lock Haven University
Anna KustenborderHuntingdon Area H.S.DuBois Business College
Colleen McCarthyGrier SchoolBaylor University
Madison McCoolHuntingdon Area H.S.Stevens Institute of Technology
Mikaela McGrawCentral H.S.University of Oklahoma
Chely MillerJuniata Valley H.S.Penn State
Brandon RhodesTussey Mountain H.S.Allegany College of Maryland
Hannah TaylorMount Union Area H.S.Bloomsburg University
Rebecca TaylorMount Union Area H.S. (1987)Drexel University
Brianne WawroSouthern Fulton Junior/Senior H.S.Shippensburg University
Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo
Safe Electricity Logo Energy Kids Web Banner Together We Save Banner