Skip to main navigation.

2018 Scholarship Recipients

Valley Rural Electric Cooperative awarded 15 $1,000 scholarships for the 2018-19 academic year to high school seniors as well as students already enrolled in post-secondary institutions.

The money to finance this initiative came from unclaimed capital credits refunds that previously had to be turned over to the state treasury. Thanks to the efforts of the cooperative’s political advocates, these resources were kept in co-op communities and used to assist consumers facing financial hardships, to support civic organizations, and to fund educational programs and scholarship.

The recipients of the scholarships are listed below. Congratulations to all of them.

Recipient H.S. (grad. year if not 2018) Post-secondary Institution
Katrina A. Bliss Mount Union Area H.S. Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Lacey M. Bradshaw Southern Fulton Junior/Senior H.S. (2016) Wilkes University
Emily E. Buseck Tussey Mountain H.S. Indiana University of Pennsylvania
Daniel C. Calvert Hollidaysburg Area Senior H.S. Shippensburg University
Abigail P. Casner Huntingdon Area H.S. Kutztown University
Andrea N. Eichelberger Mount Union Area H.S. South Hills School of Business and Technology
Mason D. Hart Southern Huntingdon County H.S. Rutgers University
Olivia K. Hostler Williamsburg H.S. Penn State Altoona
Sara E. Hutchison Juniata Valley H.S. Clarion University
Yvonne M. Longenecker Central H.S. Penn State University
Seth A. Lowey Hollidaysburg Area Senior H.S. George Washington University
Linden C. Markley The Grier School Penn State University
Cassie A. Mock Central H.S. Juniata College
Katie M. Morgan Southern Huntingdon County H.S. Juniata College
Nathan A. Ross Williamsburg H.S. Juniata College
Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo
Safe Electricity Logo Energy Kids Web Banner Together We Save Banner