Skip to main navigation.

2011 Scholarship Recipients

Valley Rural Electric Cooperative awarded 25 $1,000 scholarships for the 2011-12 academic year to high school seniors as well as students already enrolled in post-secondary institutions and returning adult students.

The money to finance this program came from unclaimed capital credits refunds that previously had to be turned over to the state treasury. Thanks to the efforts of the cooperative’s political advocates, these resources were kept in co-op communities and used to assist consumers facing financial hardships and to fund educational scholarships.

The recipients of the scholarships are listed below. Congratulations to all of them.

Recipient High School (grad. year if not 2011) Post-secondary Institution
Lindsay Berkstresser Forbes Road H.S. (2009) Penn State
Jeffrey Burdge Juniata H.S. Penn State Harrisburg
Emily Carbaugh Southern Huntingdon County H.S. Huntington University
Nicole Dengler Hollidaysburg Area Senior H.S. Juniata College
Ruth Effland Fannett-Metal H.S. Lancaster General College of Nursing
Kalee Harten Claysburg-Kimmel H.S. Indiana University of Pennsylvania
Krista Hawn Juniata Valley H.S. Juniata College
Mariah Hill Southern Fulton Junior/Senior H.S. Duquesne University
Ryan Ickes Hollidaysburg Area Senior H.S. Saint Francis University
Sarah Jansen Greencastle-Antrim H.S. Penn State
Stephanie Jones James Buchanan H.S. (2008) University of Phoenix
Shelby Matthews Huntingdon Area H.S. Liberty University
Anne Mauro Claysburg-Kimmel H.S. Mount Aloysius College
Brenda Miller Huntingdon Area H.S. (1990) Juniata College
Morgan Mills Southern Fulton Junior/Senior H.S. Penn State
Kelsey Morgan Southern Huntingdon County H.S. (2010) Penn State
Sarah Ormsby Central H.S. Geneva College
Nathaniel Otjen Juniata Valley H.S. University of Iowa
Samuel Reitman Huntingdon Area H.S. Allegheny College
Brittany Taylor Mount Union Area H.S. Messiah College
Faith Thomas Southern Huntingdon County H.S. Penn State
Elaina Truax Southern Fulton Junior/Senior H.S. (2009) Elizabethtown College
Tanya Umstead Williamsburg Junior/Senior H.S. Duquesne University
Marissa Witkovsky Central H.S. Ohio Wesleyan University
Jenna Zetler Bishop Guilfoyle H.S. Mount Aloysius College
Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo
Safe Electricity Logo Energy Kids Web Banner Together We Save Banner